The Raging Goblin Paints #8

I hope that you all like the new Trencher Ironsides, and now that they’re primed and ready for painting, they look more like a cohesive unit instead of a strange jumble of parts. To give you something to compare them against, here’s the minimum unit of my Trencher Infantry. The last three grunts and the unit leader are on the painting table right now, so you’ll get to see the completed unit soon enough, but I wanted to give you an idea of what they will all look like.

DSC00048

DSC00049

I’ve spent a long time working on this unit, and for the longest time only had two painted, that being the “bracing” grunt and one of the “grenade-throwing” grunts. It wasn’t until I found the batch painting section in my old Citadel painting book that I was inspired to implement the assembly line approach and get these guys finished before the big Trencher release coming in October. Once I finish them, things are all a bit up in the air. I plan to finish up the Rifle Grenadiers to complete the whole box and then the Officer and Sniper to complete the unit proper, but I’m not sure what I will do after that. Maybe I’ll start on my Thumper Crew, which is another kit I’m excited to do, or Captain Gunnbjorn, so I can do my first character model. We’ll have to wait and see. See you next time!

-The Raging Goblin

Update: The full unit of Trenchers is now complete! Here’s a front and back view of everybody in the unit.

DSC00050

DSC00051

Leave a Reply

