The Raging Goblin…Builds?!

It’s time for something a little bit special this time around, instead of more paints or homebrew. I am still painting, and have a unit of Trencher Infantry in the wings that’s nearly completed, but I finished this today, and I wanted to share it. To get us all in the mood for this update, I thought I’d begin with a little marching tune.

Everybody ready?

WHO ARE WE?!

WE ARE THE ARMORED ELITE,

BORN TO COMPETE,

NEVER RETREAT!

WE ARE IRONSIDES!!

WHO ARE WE?!

WE ARE ALWAYS AHEAD,

FUELED BY THEIR DREAD,

MAKIN’ THEM DEAD!

WE ARE IRONSIDES!!

Whew, that was rousing. If you actually bothered to belt all of that out, I commend you. Anyway, my little surprise is that I have built the Trencher Ironsides mentioned in the last card update. If you’re interested in building them yourselves, I will list all parts down below.

DSC00044

DSC00045

DSC00046

DSC00047

To make these guys, I used the base bodies from a pack of GW MKIII Space Marines, but the backpacks and heads are from the old plastic Warzone miniatures, specifically the Imperial line infantry. There’s no green stuff here, just good old fashioned glue and patience. To make the bayonets, I clipped a small square piece off the gun below the barrel, clipped a bayonet off of one of the Imperial rifles, and glued it in place below the barrel, with a bit of extra glue to secure it. The ammo belts on the Rocketeer’s shoulder pads are from the GW Ork Boyz box, and were left over from a previous project. In total, this project only cost me about $50.00 for the Space Marines, as everything else was leftover from past projects that I had sitting in my bitz box. I’ve spent months working on refining the Ironsides’ rules and determining what they should look like, so to see it all come to fruition like this is really cool. Now, before some of you out there make fun of their proportions, let me say a couple of things. First, these guys are perfectly in scale with 32mm minis, which is the scale that Warmachine uses. Second, they aren’t supposed to be the genetically-engineered hulks that the Astartes are, they’re just normal men wearing really heavy suits of armor. The suits themselves aren’t powered, but rely on internal clockworks and gears to augment the wearer’s strength and help them not only move in these mobile tanks, but lift and use their specialized weaponry. The massive pauldrons also serve a couple of purposes besides added armor. They contain a set of syringes mounted above the wearer’s shoulders that, via a set of buttons below the armor on the forearm, can inject medicines to keep the soldiers at peak health, or a blast of adrenaline to pump them up for battle. Their most famous use is in the Ironsides’ trademark move, the Fallaway Power Slam, in which the wearer builds up strength behind the pauldron and plows into a target ahead of him, knocking the target flat and opening it up for attack. They’ve also got plenty of extra gear as well for any scenario they find themselves in, including a brace of hand grenades, canteen, first aid kit, and a spare bayonet (these guys tend to lose their cutlery a lot). I do realize that these guys are kind of goofy-looking and aren’t tournament legal ANYWHERE, but I like them, and I’ve put a lot of work into making the Heavy Infantry of Capitol into something I can use for Warmachine. I only hope that I can inspire my fellow wargamers to try out their crazy ideas as well and experiment a bit with what works and what doesn’t. Before the summer is out, I will have a completed Trencher Infantry unit for you to see, so stay tuned for that. These guys will also be getting a lick of paint in the future, though completing them isn’t as pressing as some of my other projects, so it may be a while before you see them fully completed. Keep up with your hobbies, and God’s blessings on the rest of your week!

-The Raging Goblin

Leave a Reply

