WarmaZone #1: Trenchers

Hello hello! You are all probably wondering where I’ve been, and in truth, between school, home, and my job, I haven’t had a great deal of time for hobby stuff or working on the blog. I just got my review for Siege Brisbane out, and that was sitting in my drafts folder for three months before I finally finished it. Don’t worry, I’m okay and everything’s alright, I’ve just been really busy. To get back into the blog, I thought I would share another of my little projects with you. You all remember Imperial from Tales of the Shattered World, right? Well, as I may or may not have said, the Imperial Corporation in my story is based on the megacorporation of the same name from Warzone Resurrection: Imperial. So, I got to thinking, why not make rules for the Warzone Imperial that meshed with Warmachine in order to reenact the battles I describe in my online stories? Ere go, I decided to create a “codex” for the Imperial corporation outlining their special rules, army lists, schemes, etc. to make them compatible with my other favorite wargame. I will be sharing this work with you in the so-called WarmaZone section, in which I share these units and their rules with you, for use in your own games. Also, I don’t mean to infringe on the IP of Privateer Press or Prodos Game, this is just another of my little tributes to two great gaming companies whom I hope to see continue making awesome games and miniatures. Guys, keep up the good work! Anyway, onto the units. I thought I’d start basic and begin with Imperial’s trademark infantry unit, the Trenchers.

trenchers

 

As these guys are the quintessential Imperial grunts, they’ll help set the bar for the rest of the faction and give you an idea of what to expect.

  • Unit Composition: 1 Leader, 5-9 Grunts
  • Cost: 7/12 points
  • Force Allocation: 2
  • Stats: SPD-5, STR-6, MAT-5, RAT-5, DEF-12, ARM-14, CMD-7, HP-1
  • Weapons (1):

-Invader Assault Rifle: RNG-10, ROF-1, POW-10

-Grenade Launcher: RNG-9, ROF-1, AOE-3

Ammo Type:

-Smoke Grenade: The AOE remains in play for one round as a cloud

-Flare: Models ending their activation within or entering the AOE lose Stealth,      Prowl, and benefits of cover.

Cumbersome

-Frag Grenade: RNG-8, ROF-1, AOE-3, POW-10

Cumbersome

-Bayonet: RNG-0.5, POW-2, P+S-8

-Charger HMG: RNG-10, ROF-D3, POW-11 (8 pts)

  • Special Rules:

-Alchemical Mask

-Pathfinder

Nothing too special about these guys, as they’re your basic grunts. They’re cheap, they can handle rough terrain, and they’re good at shooting and shutting down their enemies with some fancy grenades. Something you’ll see about Imperial is that a lot of their weapons have the Ammo Type rule or they have multiple weapons, making them very adaptable for a variety of situations. For an extra five points, the Trenchers can be upgraded with a Charger heavy machine gun, really only useful for throwing even more lead downfield. Of course, Imperial has more to offer than just these guys. If you want something with a little bit more bang, the Trenchers can be upgraded into the Stormtrenchers:

imperial-stormtrenchers-add-on

 

Like their brothers in arms, the Stormtrenchers are a solid anti-infantry unit, but are much more mobile than ordinary Trenchers, able to hit-and-run instead of digging into an emplacement and firing from there.

  • Unit Composition: 1 Leader, 5-9 Grunts
  • Cost: 9/15 points
  • Force Allocation: 2
  • Stats: SPD-5, STR-6, MAT-5, RAT-5, DEF-12, ARM-14, CMD-7, HP-1
  • Weapons:

-Mandible Shotgun: RNG-SP8, ROF-2, POW-8

-Gehenna Puker: RNG-SP8 (5 pts)

Ammo Type:

-Puker: ROF-1, POW-14 (Continuous Fire, Damage Type Fire)

-Belcher: ROF-2, POW-1 (Poison Gas)

-Trench Knife: RNG-0.5, POW-2, P+S-8

  • Special Rules:

-Alchemical Mask

-Jump

-Massive Fuel Tanks: Before removing this model from play, center a 3” AOE over it and roll for direction and distance. Any model within the AOE after deviating receives an unboostable POW-8 damage roll.

Cost-wise and stat-wise, they’re about the same as Trenchers, but have a few more rules to make them interesting. With Jump, they can disengage from combat to leap across the field with their jetpacks, and with Massive Fuel Tanks, they can easily be converted into living bombs to blow up tightly-packed infantry. Their shotguns are mainly useful against infantry, but for added bang they can be upgraded with a Gehenna Puker flamethrower, which can eliminate infantry with belches of choking gas or torch heavies with a blast of flame. Again, it’s all part of their adaptability. Of course, Imperial has more to offer than just this, and if these guys seem pretty lackluster, if you know your Warzone, you know that this particular faction has some really fun and characterful units out there. So stay tuned for more WarmaZone, by me, the Raging Goblin! All credit goes out to Privateer Press and Prodos Games, and if you use my ideas in your own games, please give me credit.

See ya next time!

Leave a Reply

