The Raging Goblin Reviews #6

Welcome to the Raging Goblin Reviews, the segment where I look at some of my favorite hobby tools and products and review them for all you budding hobbyists and wargamers out there. If you’ve been following my blog, there’s probably something you’ve picked up on. Not only am I an avid wargamer and hobbyist, but I’m also totally crazy. I tend to come up with some very weird, creative, and downright bizarre ideas when left to my own devices, as the Tales of the Shattered World clearly show. With that in mind, it’s no surprise that my collections of miniatures contain some definitely weird things that I just happened to pick off the hobby store shelf because I liked them. Without any further ado, I present to you the ONLY model in my collection that has nothing to do with Warhammer, Warmachine, Warzone, or anything else steampunk-y or fantasy-related. She’s one cute kitty, and she’s Infinity’s Nomad Daktari!

Daktari

I’d like to begin this review with a confession: I know absolutely nothing about the Infinity wargame. I know that it’s a sci-fi anime-inspired game with some fantasy elements, but the rest of it is completely unknown to me. If any of you out there play or know anything about Infinity, I’d love to hear more about it, even though I don’t have the money or space for taking up a second wargame. All the same, from what I’ve seen, the creators of Infinity have done a great job creating a new and very unique IP that I hope continues to be successful and stand out amongst the thousands of other companies and games out there.

Now, I gather that the Daktari here is supposed to be some sort of field medic, and her design definitely captures that idea. She comes with a little first-aid kit that can sit on her base, and she’s holding a tiny syringe gun that could be used for administering stimms or painkillers in the thick of battle. Though, looking past that, it’s probably obvious why I picked her off the shelf and added her to my collection. She’s a cute widdle kitty girl! (Sorry, I know that was ridiculous.) But seriously, she’s just a fun and characterful piece. The anime aesthetic works well for her, giving her larger eyes than your normal 28mm scale human and making her very expressive. Though her pose here seems a little indecent…

Detail wise, despite her minuscule size, she’s packed with details. Her face and head are the most expressive, capturing her cartoonish emotional face, strands of her hair, and her little kitty ears. The rest of her outfit, skimpy as it is, is also highly detailed, and is very reminiscent of a combat doctor’s uniform, complete with armored plates, pulse line and red cross symbols, high-heeled boots (how effective would those be in a trench?) and leg wrappings. Her right arm is covered in a high-tech looking gauntlet that probably houses a miniature computer, and the mechanisms and vials on her syringe gun are clearly visible. Her first aid kit is just the icing on the cake, as it adds a bit of detail and character to her unadorned base. Even her tail is an expressive piece, as you can just imagine it twitching in curiosity as she surveys the battlefield for those who will need her help. I know I gush over her being cute, but I really can’t help it, as I love cats, and her sculpt is just so adorable to me, even though she sticks out like a sore thumb against my battle-hardened trenchers. The only downside is that she’s much smaller than your standard 28mm scale human, and this makes the details very fine and tiny. To make her look good, you’ll need a steady hand and precise brush to make sure everything gets painted without too many blotches or color overlaps. This could make her a little intimidating to hobbyists who grew up with chunkier models like Warhammer 40k or Warmachine, including yours truly, but with a little practice and patience you’ll have a very intricate and beautiful model to add to your collection or wargaming table.

Assembly-wise, this little lady was the most difficulty I’ve had in building a model just because of how, well, small she is. She comes in five pieces (legs, tail, body, right arm, first-aid kit) and they all fit together well without the aid of green stuff or extra time needed holding the pieces in place, but all the parts are so small that if you don’t have very small fingers or a pair of tweezers, you’ll have a heck of a time getting her assembled. She also is made out of white metal, and has some fiddly pieces of flash on her left ear and tail that need to be cleaned off before they can be put together. As the pieces in question are so small, you need to be very careful when cutting them off, lest you cut off her ear or snip her tail in half in the process. Fortunately I didn’t, but it was a bit of a white-knuckle ride getting her completely assembled. The first-aid kit is the easiest piece, as it just sits on the base and doesn’t require any dry-fitting before hand to make sure it fits properly. Put simply, she’s easy to assemble, but expect to spend a lot of time squinting and holding your breath to make sure everything gets cleaned up and put together in the correct way.

Normally, at this point I’d give you a rundown of her stats and rules, but like I said, I don’t know anything about Infinity, its characters, or its rules, so I’m going to leave this section blank. If you know something about this wargame, or this particular character, leave a comment below and let me know what you think. Even though I have no interest in playing Infinity or buying more characters, I’d still like to get your input and learn some more about this little oddball.

So, what’s the final verdict on the Infinity Nomads Daktari? I’d give her a solid 6/10. As a model, she’s a great, highly-detailed, and expressive little kitten that stands out in any collection as a very characterful piece. She seems more suited for traditional sci-fi and more anime-inspired games like Infinity or Relic Knights, but I could easily see her in a fantasy setting, with a different paint scheme and passing off her gear as Final Fantasy-esque Magitek. She assembles easily, even though getting the tiny bits cleaned and together is a bit of a thrill ride, and she has lots of intricate details that, although intimidating to newcomers, provides for a nice challenge for veterans looking to add a new character to an existing collection of models. Like I said, I don’t know how well she fits into a game of Infinity, so I leave that up to all you out there to decide the best use for her in a Nomads military force. As it stands, she’s just a great piece for your collection, and she’s just too cute to say no to, unless catgirls aren’t your thing. If you like Infinity, sci-fi or anime-styled models, or just cute catgirls, the Daktari is a definite “buy” for you. If she isn’t your cup of tea, or just doesn’t fit into your existing army, that’s just fine. We’re all entitled to our own opinions. (though how you can say no to those eyes is beyond me…)

Anyway, this has been the Raging Goblin’s review of the Infinity Nomads Daktari. God’s blessings on your week, keep up with your hobbies, and stay green my friends!

Leave a Reply

