Day 8

Onto Week #2!

The week started out the same as always: got up on time, got showered and dressed, had a ham-and-cheese sandwich for breakfast, and caught the bus to school with my housemates.

Leonardo had a surprise in store for us when we got to Grammar Class that morning. Over the weekend, we read a short lesson about how to assign genders to nouns and adjectives that we were going to discuss in class. However, he neglected to mention that we would be TEACHING it. After a bit of small talk, he started off the lesson by telling us what we would be doing, and then picking who would be the first to start. You can guess by my sarcastic tone who the first to present was. I’m still not sure how Leonardo and the other profs can teach in front of a class every day, even a small one like ours. I was up there for only ten minutes or so, and I kept checking my lesson and what I was saying to avoid screwing up in front of the class. At least my part of the lesson went without a hitch, and Leonardo complemented me on my speaking. Hopefully I’ll be able to do a little better the next time I have to present something like this.

After my usual lunch of empanada-and-Coke, I returned for conversation class, and was a little surprised. Our old teacher, Lara, had left the school and gotten another job elsewhere, so we had a replacement. Her name was Lilianna, and she was just as pretty as Lara, but she was a geek just like me, and loved to talk about science fiction, anime, fantasy, gaming, and all other things loved by  nerds. I could tell we were going to get along JUST fine.

My housemates and I had some time to kill after classes ended, so after getting off the bus in Nunoa, we decided to be adventurous and explore the local mall. Most of the stores weren’t too exciting: clothes, toys, antiques, furniture, grow shops (for “Medicinal” purposes. Yeah right), but when we got to the top floor, I discovered something that made the whole trip worthwhile. Next to a martial arts equipment store, there was a Games Workshop situated in the middle of the fifth floor. I could barely believe it! I didn’t buy anything, but it was still fun to go inside and look around at all the cool models and kits for sale. Maybe I’ll go back there someday.

Morelia surprised us that night by making hamburgers for dinner. Apparently she was inspired by my comment a few nights ago that I like hamburgers. Anyway, she set up a whole burger buffet for us, with pickles, lettuce, onions, tomatoes, mustard, mayo, ranch dressing, and barbecue sauce. I don’t like to pick meals, but I think this one officially replaced the pizza last week as my favorite thing she’s made for us.

The rest of the night wasn’t too exciting, and I retired to my room to watch “The Terminator” on Netflix before crashing around 10:00. This week was certainly going to be a slow one. Don’t worry, things are going to pick up soon. Until next time, God bless and stay well!

-Kronos

Leave a Reply

