Day 5

The last day of classes! I’ve survived! My classmates and I got a bit of a sucker punch in grammar class today, as we had our first quiz, which I gathered will be happening on every Friday until the end of the trip. I was a little freaked out about it at first, but it was really easy, and was about things we already knew, like vocabulary, how we celebrate holidays in South or North America, and comparing how houses are set up in Chile and the States. True, it was a bit of a shock to us to get a quiz out of the blue, but in reality it wasn’t as terrible as we all thought it would be. I’ve been frequenting a nearby bakery with my friends for lunch, and my lunch the past couple of days has been a different kind of empanada with a bottle of Coke Zero to wash it down. Today I was feeling adventurous and decided to check out the rest of the store, and I discovered that they didn’t just sell empanadas, but they sold desserts, including big, chocolate-frosted doughnuts! Needless to say, I bought one to go along with my usual order. When I got back to the school and finished my main course, I bit into the doughnut, and discovered that the doughnut was hollow and was filled with peanut-butter creme. Now THAT’s what I call a dessert! Lara wasn’t at school for conversation class, so me, Matt, and a very nice girl named Rachel ended up with another group…that was going to the zoo that afternoon! It was a long walk to the zoo, and an even longer walk up the stairs to get there (who builds a zoo at the top of a hill, anyway?), but it was worth it when we got there, and it was a lot of fun. Because Rachel didn’t have enough cash to pay for admission, I paid for her admission for her, and I think she appreciated it a lot. Anyways, the zoo wasn’t as big as the one in Brookfield, but we still spent a good couple of hours there, and saw meercats, tigers, wolves, sleeping lions, a really playful sea lion, ostriches, penguins, and a weird-looking critter called a mara that looks like a cross between a deer and a rabbit. We all had fun that day, and I think we laughed more in those two hours than I think we have all week (on an unrelated note, we learned that ostriches fart…rather enthusiastically at that). Matt and I met up with Will after school had ended, and we took the subway downtown and explored a gigantic, multi-story mall in the middle of the downtown area. Will went off with some other guys to see a movie about a dog that was playing in the theater there, while Matt and I investigated the food court and scoped out the female populace. (I don’t want anyone to take this the wrong way, but I haven’t seen a single girl down here that ISN’T attractive). We returned home around 8 or so at night, and we were in for a surprise. Morelia had made homemade ham-and-black-olive pizza for all of us! I don’t want to choose between all of the things she’s made for us, but I think that had to be my favorite. After dinner, she introduced us to a Mastermind-esque game with numbers that she and her friends used to play in college. We were all up until 11 that night playing, and I don’t think either of my housemates or I won a single game against her. We could have stayed up a lot longer than that, but we had to get to bed early because…well, you’ll find out soon enough. Tomorrow, my first excursion outside the city! Until then, God bless and stay well! -Kronos

Leave a Reply

