Day 4

Onto Thursday!

I got up a little later in the morning than usual, but things were pretty much the same, save Will and Matt were ready to go earlier, and we got to school fifteen minutes before class was supposed to start.

We discussed a short story called “Noche de los Feos,” or “Night of the Ugly People” in grammar class, which had to be one of the more unusual selections from the stories we’ve been reading. In short, the story is about a very unattractive man and his wife who start out jealous of normal-looking people, especially the man, who would give anything to look like an ordinary person. By the end of the story, the two of them grow to realize that they can’t change who they are, and become more accepting of their horrid appearances. If you get the chance to read it, it’s a rather strange and sad story.

For reasons I can’t figure out, I was very tired after class and took a nap during the mid-class break instead of playing fooseball or socializing. I’m not sure why I was so tired, but it may have had to do with the fact that I didn’t have my tea in the morning.

Conversation class was another controversial topic, as we discussed the role of women in the world and in the workplace. I feel that this was even more eye-opening and upsetting than the racism discussion. I don’t remember all of the statistics that Lara read to us, but the ones I do remember are pretty grim. For example, 80% of women in the world of all ages are involved in forced labor, the majority being factories and the sex trade. In many countries, girls are forced into marriage before the age of 15. And in all the world, 2/3 of illiterates are women. Needless to say, this was much more shocking to me than yesterday’s talk was, as I had no idea how serious the situation was for women in the world of today.

After school ended, I stopped in the train station after finally figuring out how to use the ATM, and withdrew enough cash to get me through the next couple of weeks. My housemates and I returned around five o’clock, and helped Morelia and Ernesto move the furniture in the living room around, as they had just bought a new couch. Dinner that night was interesting, both in terms of food and conversation. For the meal, we had shredded beef, beef stew, mixed vegetables, and strawberry gelatine for dessert, but the best part had to be our conversation with our house parents. I found out that Morelia is a big fan of Doctor Who, and even has her own jacket with the logo on it. How cool is that? I also found out that Morelia has studied abroad as well, and told us about her time studying in Canada. The roughest part for her was that her family ordered pizza every night for dinner for 3 MONTHS. Needless to say, she was practically begging for salad after a while, but nowadays pizza is one of her favorite foods, and she loves to make it.

It’s been only a few days, but I feel like I’ve been here for so much longer than that. I’m feeling much more relaxed and comfortable in Chile, and I can’t wait to see what the coming days will bring. Until next time, God bless and stay well!

-Kronos

Leave a Reply

